And we’re off …

image 001a
I can’t believe that we’ve been on our mission for 7 weeks already…back when this picture was taken, I had no idea just where we were going, what we would experience, nor how we would be living.

I was, however, looking forward to the new adventure and have learned more about relying on the Lord as never before.  That first week in Kampala, the capital of Uganda, was strange, a bit frightening, and an experience I wasn’t sure I would be able to do.  I felt as though I was just on vacation and that I was only visiting here.  As the first week turned into two, and the reality set in that I was “actually” living in Africa, those uneasy feelings came back and I have to admit, I had a little melt-down realizing it would be 18 months, 18 months!  Eighteen months of not holding, singing to, or watching my grandchildren grow, play sports, and participate in family get-togethers.  Eighteen months of birthdays and lunch dates and shopping with my daughters, and eighteen months without a housekeeper.  WHAT?  WAIT….okay, I can do 18 months with someone mopping my floors, dusting and cleaning my kitchen.  So I had one small moment but now I’m over it, I’m moving forward, and I’m so happy I’m here with my husband spending 24/7 in each other’s company serving our Heavenly Father in the Uganda Kampala Mission.  It’s been an amazing journey thus far.  The people are warm and kind, and as we go different places, they will see our badge and say to us “we’re friends with Jesus too”.  It starts a wonderful conversation and we gain friends.  The police presence here is everywhere.  They stand at the entrance of every grocery store, mall or business.  They open your doors, look in your glove compartment, pull up your hatch and look underneath your vehicle with a mirror.  They carry guns and I feel SO safe, they are protecting us.  They are like children in a way…we started giving them a “sweet”, a piece of wrapped candy and they get so excited that sometimes they just open the door and ask if we have a “candy bomb”.  If we do, they light up and send us on in to where we’re going.  They have come to know us and we have to laugh when they look so sad when we don’t have any candy that day.  A Sweet is a real treat for them and they light up like a kid on Christmas when we hand them one….only one, and they’re grateful.   They recognize us and we joke with them, and they always have a huge smile on their face as we drive off.

image 001b
Cooking is another story here.  Their sugar is not the same as we have in the States, their brown sugar is coarse white sugar that they’ve added molasses to…it’s wet, dense and not like what we’re used to.  Recipes do not turn out the same, I’ve had to experiment with the ingredients but I’m getting pretty good.  They eat ALOT of beans and alot of rice.  Most of their diet consists of Matoke (spelling?) and Poshu, and ground nuts.  They have huge Avacados, Mangoes, the sweetest Pineapple in abundance and it’s not as acidic as the ones we get from Hawaii so you can eat it and it doesn’t burn your lips or gums.  Their carrots are so sweet I eat them like candy.  They have tonz of cucumbers, green peppers and tomatoes so we eat alot of Pico de gallo without any kick because they don’t have any jalepenos or hot peppers here.  We do make guacamole and it’s wonderful…if only we had tortilla chips!  But we make do with chapatas and eggs.
image 001c
Everything we buy at the store or green market comes home and goes into a Jik wash, (Clorox water) where it’s scrubbed clean and then rinsed in filtered water before it ever touches the shelf in the fridge.
We thank you for your support, your many prayers, and the letters and emails we’ve received.  The Gospel is true, the Lord loves each and every one of us, and we hope to help bring others of His children to the knowledge of their Savior!
Leave a Reply

